Dialysis Technician Training in Oklahoma

There are no official state regulations that outline the specifics of dialysis technician training and certification requirements in the state of Oklahoma. While the state has no legislation affecting technicians, individuals will still be required to comply with federal regulations and may be subject to laws governing advanced unlicensed assistants or nursing aides. The State Department of Health and the Board of Nursing establish and enforce health care laws in Oklahoma.

States that do not impose their own regulations on dialysis technicians generally defer to federal requirements as the standard by which technicians should practice. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) have a lot of influence on dialysis facility regulations because they are the agencies that are responsible for reimbursing clinics for approximately 80% of the costs associated with delivery of care. The CMS took over dialysis reimbursement because most dialysis patients cannot afford the tremendous costs and most health insurance companies are unwilling to issue policies for such an expensive medical procedure.

CMS regulations 494.140 (e)(1-4) state that the patient care technician training and certification requirements must incorporate the following expectations:

    1. Meet all applicable state requirements for:
      • Education
      • Training
      • Credentialing
      • Competency
      • Standards of practice
      • Certification
      • Licensure
    2. Have a High School Diploma or equivalency
    3. Complete an approved training program that includes the following subjects:
      • Principles of dialysis
      • Care of patients with kidney failure
      • Possible complications of dialysis
      • Water treatment and dialysate preparation
      • Infection control
      • Safety
      • Dialyzer reprocessing
    4. Certification by a State or National Program within 18 months of employment

Dialysis facilities typically have their own training programs that are designed to give new technicians the knowledge and skills they need to perform their job effectively and pass a state or national certification exam. Most facilities have a 60 to 90 day training period that gives technicians both classroom and clinical experience. In general, technicians are allowed to work for 6 – 18 months before they are required to complete a certification exam. Applicants are well-advised to learn about the national certification options available to them prior to seeking employment.

National Certification Organizations include the following:

  1. The Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission (NNCC)
  2. The Board of Nephrology Examiners Nursing and Technology (BONENT)
  3. The National Nephrology Certification Organization, Inc. (NNCO)

In an effort to monitor the quality of dialysis treatment being provided by dialysis clinics in the United States, Congress established 18 non-profit renal networks in 1978. These networks have jurisdiction over 1 to 6 states where they provide routine monitoring, data analysis, dialysis treatment education, and informational resources for both patients and facility personnel. Oklahoma is included in Network 13 along with Arkansas and Louisiana.

Oklahoma Dialysis Technician Training and Career Links

  1. Davita
  2. Fresenius Medical Care
  3. Jane Phillips Medical Center
  4. McAlester Regional Health Center
  5. National Renal Alliance
  6. OU Medical Center
  7. Physicians Choice Dialysis
  8. Saint Francis Hospital
  9. St. John Medical Center
  10. US Renal Care

State Contact Information

Oklahoma State SealPhone:          (405) 271-6576
Fax:               (405) 271-1308
Email:           medicalfacilities@health.ok.gov

1000 NE 10th St     Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299

Web Site:     Oklahoma State Department of Health

National Network:   Network 13

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>