Dialysis Technician Training in Minnesota

There are no official dialysis technician training or certification state requirements in Minnesota. While the state has not adopted formal language regarding dialysis technicians, employers might require new technicians to complete a college degree or have healthcare experience. In addition, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has reimbursement regulations that require technicians in all states to complete a training program and pass either a state or national certification exam.

Nearly all dialysis facilities are dependent on the CMS for the funds they need to remain in operation. The government took over the responsibility of paying for much of the costs associated with dialysis because most patients were unable to afford treatment and insurance companies were unwilling to provide policies for the extremely expensive process of providing dialysis. In the past, hospitals created dialysis boards that were responsible for deciding which patients would receive treatment based on age and projected future contribution to society. The inhumanity of this approach caused a great deal of outrage and led to the federal takeover of dialysis reimbursement.

CMS regulations 494.140 (e)(1-4) require that the patient care technician training and certification requirements incorporate the following expectations:

    1. Meet all applicable state requirements for:
      • Education
      • Training
      • Credentialing
      • Competency
      • Standards of practice
      • Certification
      • Licensure
    2. Have a High School Diploma or equivalency
    3. Complete an approved training program that includes the following subjects:
      • Principles of dialysis
      • Care of patients with kidney failure
      • Possible complications of dialysis
      • Water treatment and dialysate preparation
      • Infection control
      • Safety
      • Dialyzer reprocessing
    4. Certification by a State or National Program within 18 months of employment

MinnesotaIndividuals who are considering a career in this industry need to know about the exam options available. In general, technicians are not required to complete an exam until after they have begun working. Minnesota does not have a certification requirement for technicians and individuals can assume that they are in compliance with all laws as long as they complete certification within 18 months of hire. Facility directors can provide additional guidance on the details of certification requirements in your area.

The following are the most commonly recognized national certification options:

  1. The Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission (NNCC)
  2. The Board of Nephrology Examiners Nursing and Technology (BONENT)
  3. The National Nephrology Certification Organization, Inc. (NNCO)

In an effort to monitor the quality of dialysis treatment across the United States, Congress created 18 renal networks that provide oversight for facilities in specific regions. These non-profit networks routinely collect and evaluate statistical information about clinics, encourage patient education and rehabilitation, and serve as a resource for patients and clinical staff. Minnesota is part of Network 11 along with North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Michigan.

Minnesota Dialysis Technician Training and Career Links

  1. Altru Health System
  2. CentraCare
  3. Davita
  4. Fresenius Medical Care
  5. Mayo Clinic Health System
  6. Rice Memorial Hospital
  7. Sanford Canby
  8. Satellite Healthcare
  9. University of Minnesota Medical Center
  10. Winona Health

State Contact Information

Minnesota State SealPhone:          (612) 317-3000
Fax:               (612) 617-2190
Email:           nursing.board@state.mn.us

2829 University Ave, Ste 200     Minneapolis, MN 55414-3253

Web Site:     Minnesota Board of Nursing

National Network:   Network 11

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>