Dialysis Technician Training in Missouri

There is no state agency or organization that is responsible for creating and enforcing dialysis technician training and certification regulations in the state of Missouri. The Department of Health and Senior Services has been given the task of monitoring other related health professions. Individuals who wish to pursue a new career as a dialysis technician in Missouri will need to complete a training program and a state or national certification examination in order to comply with federal guidelines.

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) are responsible for reimbursing dialysis facilities for around 80% of the costs associated with the dialysis treatment that they provide to the public. Since the government pays for such a large portion of treatment, dialysis facilities across the United States are compelled to comply with federal regulations if they hope to continue to receive the funds that they need to remain in operation. Fortunately, the requirements that a dialysis technician must meet are relatively insignificant compared to many other healthcare professions.

CMS regulations 494.140 (e)(1-4) require that the patient care technician training and certification requirements incorporate the following standards:

    1. Meet all applicable state requirements for:
      • Education
      • Training
      • Credentialing
      • Competency
      • Standards of practice
      • Certification
      • Licensure
    2. Have a High School Diploma or equivalency
    3. Complete an approved training program that includes the following subjects:
      • Principles of dialysis
      • Care of patients with kidney failure
      • Possible complications of dialysis
      • Water treatment and dialysate preparation
      • Infection control
      • Safety
      • Dialyzer reprocessing
    4. Certification by a State or National Program within 18 months of employment

MissouriDialysis clinics that operate in unregulated states, like Missouri, have mostly made the changes needed in their protocol to comply with federal regulations. Dialysis facilities in many states are given the freedom to develop their own training curriculum as long as it includes accepted standards of practice. A technician is usually allowed to begin working after completing training. The CMS expects certification within 18 months of hire. This gives technicians time to acquire the skills they need for the exam.

National certification options include the following:

  1. The Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission (NNCC)
  2. The Board of Nephrology Examiners Nursing and Technology (BONENT)
  3. The National Nephrology Certification Organization, Inc. (NNCO)

Dialysis clinics throughout the United States are monitored by 18 non-profit networks that were established by Congress in 1978 for the sole purpose of ensuring high quality dialysis treatment. Each renal network has jurisdiction over one to six states where it is responsible for gathering and interpreting data, advocating for patient health, and serving as an informational resource for patients and clinical personnel. Missouri is a member of Network 12 along with Kansas, Nebraska, and Iowa.

Missouri Dialysis Technician Training and Career Links

  1. Advanced Dialysis Services
  2. American Renal Associates
  3. Barnes Jewish Hospital
  4. Branson Dialysis
  5. Cameron Regional Medical Center
  6. Cardinal Glennon Children’s Hospital
  7. Children’s Mercy Hospital
  8. Cox Health
  9. Davita
  10. Dialysis Clinic, Inc.
  11. Fresenius Medical Care
  12. Premier Dialysis Centers
  13. Salem Memorial Hospital
  14. Samaritan Hospital
  15. St. Louis Children’s Hospital
  16. University of Missouri Hospital

State Contact Information

Missouri State SealPhone:          (573) 751-6400
Fax:               (573) 751-6010
Email:           info@health.mo.gov

912 Wildwood, P.O. Box 570     Jefferson City, MO 65102

Web Site:     Department of Health and Senior Services

National Network:   Network 12

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>