Dialysis Technician Training in Kansas

There is no state agency or organization that monitors dialysis technician training and certification in Kansas. If the state were to adopt requirements for dialysis technicians in the future, they would likely fall under the jurisdiction of the Department of Health and Environment. Since federal law requires that technicians work under the supervision of a registered nurse or renal physician as well as pass both a training program and a certification exam, states commonly feel that additional regulations are not needed.

Dialysis treatment tends to be a very expensive procedure because it requires patients to make multiple trips to a clinic each week in order to have their blood cleaned. Historically, patients have had a very difficult time paying for the costs associated with dialysis and insurance companies are rarely willing to cover the expense. For this reason, the federal government mandated that the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) would become responsible for paying the majority of dialysis costs.

In an effort to ensure high quality care in dialysis clinics across the United States, the CMS adopted regulations that require dialysis technicians to meet a few training and certification requirements. Dialysis facilities that do not comply with CMS regulations are subject to penalties and the possibility of losing federal reimbursement privileges. Because the vast majority of clinics are dependent on federal funding, nearly all facilities have adopted protocol that guarantees full compliance.

CMS regulations 494.140 (e)(1-4) mandate that the patient care technician training and certification requirements must:

    1. Meet all applicable state requirements for:
      • Education
      • Training
      • Credentialing
      • Competency
      • Standards of practice
      • Certification
      • Licensure
    2. Have a High School Diploma or equivalency
    3. Complete an approved training program that includes the following subjects:
      • Principles of dialysis
      • Care of patients with kidney failure
      • Possible complications of dialysis
      • Water treatment and dialysate preparation
      • Infection control
      • Safety
      • Dialyzer reprocessing
    4. Certification by a State or National Program within 18 months of employment

KansasDialysis facilities provide the necessary training to prepare technicians for the responsibilities of the job and to pass a certification exam. Learning about the exam options available will prepare you for the training that you must complete. Individuals are encouraged to contact employers about whether or not they require a specific exam. Technicians can expect to complete the training process and work for a period of time before being required to sit for an exam.

Nationally recognized certification organizations include:

  1. The Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission (NNCC)
  2. The Board of Nephrology Examiners Nursing and Technology (BONENT)
  3. The National Nephrology Certification Organization, Inc. (NNCO)

The task of monitoring the quality of dialysis treatment being delivered throughout the United States has been assigned to 18 non-profit networks that were created by Congress in 1978. These networks are responsible for anywhere from 1 to 6 states. Each network collects data on the dialysis clinics within its jurisdiction and serves as an informational resource for dialysis professionals and patients. Kansas is part of Network 12 along with Missouri, Nebraska, and Iowa.

Kansas Dialysis Technician Training and Career Links

  1. Davita
  2. Flint Hills Dialysis
  3. Fresenius Medical Care
  4. Goodland Regional Medical Center

State Contact Information

Kansas State SealPhone:          (785) 296-0461
Fax:               (785) 368-6368
Email:           info@kdheks.gov

1000 SW Jackson, Suite 540     Topeka, KS 66612-0461

Web Site:     Kansas Department of Health and Environment

National Network:   Network 12

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>