Dialysis Technician Training in New Mexico

Dialysis technician training and certification requirements in New Mexico fall under the jurisdiction of the Department of Health’s Licensing and Certification Bureau. The objective of the Bureau is to assure the safety and well-being of patients and clients. The Bureau is actively involved in the state regulatory process and routinely monitors dialysis facilities for compliance with state law. The New Mexico Board of Nursing is the agency that certifies dialysis technicians.

Individuals must complete the certification exam within six months of the date of hire and may repeat a failed exam once within a two month period without having to repeat an approved training program. Certification renewal is required every two years. Certification of technicians by the state is mandatory and technicians are required to meet the following prerequisites:

  1. Be a High School graduate or complete the general education development course
  2. Successful completion of a board-approved training program
  3. Submission of the required application and fee
  4. A minimum score of 80% on the certification examination

Individuals who have practiced as a dialysis technician in another state must:

  1. Provide written verification of completion of a training program in another state
  2. Submit verification of at least 1000 hours of experience in the past 24 months
  3. Complete 80 hours of supervised clinical practice in an approved facility
  4. Complete the hemodialysis technician’s skills list
  5. Pass the training program’s examination with a minimum score of 80%
  6. Provide written verification of supervised clinical practice, skills list, and exam
  7. Pass the state’s certification examination with a minimum score of 80%
  8. Submit a completed application and associated fee

Additional details about technician certification in New Mexico can be found here.

In addition to the requirements established by the state of New Mexico, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services recently adopted their own requirements. Certified dialysis technicians in New Mexico fulfill federal requirements by complying with state regulations.

CMS regulations 494.140 (e)(1-4) established that patient care technician training and certification requirements need to include the following expectations:

    1. Meet all state requirements for:
      • Education
      • Training
      • Credentialing
      • Competency
      • Standards of practice
      • Certification
      • Licensure
    2. Have a High School Diploma or GED
    3. Complete an approved program that includes the following:
      • Principles of dialysis
      • Care of patients with kidney failure
      • Possible complications of dialysis
      • Water treatment and dialysate preparation
      • Infection control
      • Safety
      • Dialyzer reprocessing
    4. Certification by a State or National Program within 18 months of employment

New MexicoIt is important for aspiring technicians to understand the certification examination options available to them. New Mexico has created its own certification exam and technicians need to make sure they know the state requirements prior to sitting for any exam. Technicians from other states should inquire directly with the Board of Nursing about the potential for becoming certified through the use of a previously completed national certification exam.

Nationally recognized certification options include the following:

  1. The Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission (NNCC)
  2. The Board of Nephrology Examiners Nursing and Technology (BONENT)
  3. The National Nephrology Certification Organization, Inc. (NNCO)

Each state is a member of a renal network that was created by Congress in 1978. The government established eighteen non-profit networks across the United States that are tasked with data collection, rehabilitation promotion, and ongoing quality assurance among facilities within their jurisdiction. These renal networks also serve as an informational resource for clients and clinic personnel. New Mexico is part of Network 15 along with Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, Utah, and Wyoming.

New Mexico Dialysis Technician Training and Career Links

  1. Davita
  2. Dialysis Clinic, Inc.
  3. Fresenius Medical Care
  4. Innovative Dialysis Systems
  5. The University of New Mexico Hospitals

State Contact Information

New Mexico State SealPhone:          (505) 841-8340
Fax:               (505) 841-8347
Email:           laura.moya@state.nm.us

6301 Indian School Rd NE, Ste 710     Albuquerque, NM 87110

Web Site:     New Mexico Board of Nursing

National Network:   Network 15


2 thoughts on “Dialysis Technician Training in New Mexico

    1. Steve Post author


      The facility would need to contact the New Mexico Board of Nursing in order to complete the required steps for being approved.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>